COMHAIRLE CHONTAE NA GAILLIMHE GALWAY COUNTY COUNCIL



DRAFT ROAD TRAFFIC (SPECIAL SPEED LIMITS) COUNTY GALWAY BYE-LAWS NO. 1 - 2024

1.Introduction

Galway County Council in exercise of the powers conferred on it by Section 9 of the Road Traffic Act, 2004 (No. 44 of 2004), as amended, having given notice to the Commissioner of the Garda Síochána and completed the statutory public consultation process, hereby make the following bye-laws in respect of the administrative area of County Galway.

- a. These bye-laws may be cited as the Road Traffic (Special Speed Limits) County Galway Bye-Laws, No. 1 2024.
- b. These bye-laws are supplementary to and should be construed in conjunction with the Road Traffic (Special Speed Limits) County Galway Bye-Laws 2018 and the Road Traffic (Special Speed Limits) County Galway Bye-Laws, No. 1 – 2021. They provide for amendments and additions to the Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018.
- c. The maps annexed to these bye-laws are for illustrative purposes only, and in the event of conflict between the maps and the text of the schedule hereto, the text of the schedule shall take precedence.
- d. The following bye-laws are hereby revoked:-
 - Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018, B/80/1 (c)
 - Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018, B/80/1 (d)
 - Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018, B/80/1 (e)
 - Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018, L/80/5 (a)
 - Road Traffic Special Speed Limits County Galway Bye-Laws 2018, L/80/5 (b)

B/80/1. The following roads at Ballinasloe: -

- (c) Atticorra Road L8608 between its junction with the R357 and the legal urban boundary,
- (d) Rooaun Road L86082 between a point 615 metres west of its junction with the Taughmaconnell Road R357 and point 2184 metres from the said junction,
- (e) Kellysgrove Road L84134 between a point 440 metres south of the junction with the Beechlawn Road L4600 and the southern border of the legal urban boundary.

L/80/5 The following roads at Loughrea Town: -

- (a) Raruddy Road L8193 for a distance between its junction with the Loughrea Bypass R446 northward to the legal urban boundary,
- (b) Cartron Road L4224 from a point 108 metres north-west of its junction with the Raheen (Tullagh) Road L8265 to the legal urban boundary.
 - e. These bye-laws shall come into operation on the XXXXX.

2) Volume 1 Athenry/Oranmore MD Amendments

SIXTH SCHEDULE - addition

Roads in respect of which a special speed limit of eighty kilometres per hour (**80kph**) is prescribed. List numbers are prefixed with 80 indicating a speed limit of 80 km/h.

A/80/3. The following roads at Athenry

- (a) Part of the Athenry Ring Road L3125, 25m from its junction with the L3103 to its roundabout junction with the R347.
- (b) Part of the Athenry Ring Road L3124 from its roundabout junction with the R348 to a point 525m north-west of the said location.



3) Volume 2 Ballinasloe MD Amendments

FIFTH SCHEDULE - addition

Roads in respect of which a special speed limit of sixty kilometres per hour (**60km/h**) is prescribed. List numbers are prefixed with 60 indicating a speed limit of 60 km/h.

B/60/1. The following roads at Ballinasloe Town: -

- (m) Atticorra Road L8608 between its junction with the R357 and the legal urban boundary,
- (n) Rooaun Road L86082 between a point 615 metres west of its junction with the Taughmaconnell Road R357 and point 2184 metres from the said junction,
- (o) Kellysgrove Road L84134 between a point 440 metres south of the junction with the Beechlawn Road L4600 and the southern border of the legal urban boundary.

SIXTH SCHEDULE - addition

Roads in respect of which a special speed limit of eighty kilometres per hour (**80km/h**) is prescribed. List numbers are prefixed with 80 indicating a speed limit of 80 km/h.

B/80/4. The following roads between Ballygar and Creggs: -

- (a) The Creggs Road L2310 from a point 25m from its junction with the L2309 to its junction with the Kilmore Road L2308
- (b) The Creggs Road L2312 from its junction with the Kilmore Road L2308 to its junction with the Mallyree Road L63485
- (c) The Creggs Road L2316 from its junction with the Mallyree Road L63485 to its junction with the R362

B/80/5. The following road at Mountbellew: -

(a) The Ballyforan Road L3210 from a point 115m from its junction with the Ballinasloe Road R358 to its junction with the Newbridge – Ballyforan Road R363

4) Volume 4 Loughrea MD Amendments

FIFTH SCHEDULE - addition

Roads in respect of which a special speed limit of sixty kilometres per hour (60kph) is prescribed. List numbers are prefixed with 60 indicating a speed limit of 60 km/h.

L/60/15. The following roads at Loughrea Town: -

- (g) Raruddy Road L8193 for a distance between its junction with the Loughrea Bypass R446 northward to the legal urban boundary,
- (h) Cartron Road L4224 from a point 108 metres north-west of its junction with the Raheen (Tullagh) Road L8265 to the legal urban boundary.













